As part of the BETA Photograph of the Year competition, the Vienna-based South and East Europe Media Organisation (SEEMO), an affiliate of the International Press Institute (IPI), calls for the submission of entries for its 2012 SEEMO Human Rights Photo Award. All professional photojournalists working and taking photographs in South East and Central Europe are eligible to participate. The closing date for submissions is Apr. 22, 2012.

This is the ninth consecutive photo competition organized by the Belgrade-based BETA news agency. SEEMO is participating for the fifth time. The competition is designed to promote professional achievements in photojournalism in South East Europe. The winner of the BETA Photograph of the Year competition is awarded 1,000 euros. The runner-up receives 750 euros and the third spot gets 500 euros.

The winner of the SEEMO Human Rights Photo Award, selected by a special panel of judges, receives a special plaque. The winning photograph, as well as other photos selected by the SEEMO jury, will be published on the SEEMO website and in its publications, De Scripto magazine and the South, East and Central Europe Media Handbook.

The main sponsor of the BETA photo competition, Telekom Srbija, will award the best sports photograph.

All awards will be presented during the inaugural exhibition of selected works, which will take place in the New Moment Gallery in Belgrade, Serbia, on May 17, 2012, at 6 p.m.

BETA will publish a catalogue of all exhibited works.

The terms of the competition are posted at

For any additional information, contact:

Previous winners of the SEEMO Human Rights Photo Award are:

-2011: Janko Petkovic (Serbia), photographer with BETA and Hello fashion magazine, for the photograph Proboj (“Breakthrough”)

-2010: Mahir Vranac (Bosnia and Herzegovina), freelance photographer, for the photograph Protest poljoprivrednika – Podjela hrane (“Farmers’ Protest – Food Distribution”)

-2009: Nebojsa Radosavljevic-Raus (Serbia), freelance photographer, for the photograph Sudbina (“Destiny”)

-2008: Maja Zlatevska (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), photographer with Dnevnik, for the photograph Zatvor (“Prison”)

-2008: Marko Djurica, special distinction, for the photograph Liturgija (“Liturgy”)