For the sixth consecutive year, the International Press Institute (IPI) will partner with the Photographische Gesellschaft (PHG) and Edition Lammerhuber to present the annual Alfred Fried Photography Award.

Named for Austrian pacifist, author and 1911 Nobel Peace Prize recipient Alfred Hermann Fried, the Award recognizes the year’s best photograph signifying the theme of peace. The Award’s organisers seek to honour those photographs that best express the idea that our future lies in peaceful coexistence.

The Award was first established in 2013 by the Photographische Gesellschaft and Edition Lammerhuber. This year’s award is given in partnership with IPI, UNESCO, the Austrian Parliament, the Austrian Parliamentary Reporting Association and the German Youth Photography Award and with the support of World Press Photo.

The 2019 award ceremony will take place on September 12 in Vienna. Speakers will include:
Wolfgang Sobotka, President of the Austrian National Council (lower house of Parliament)
Hilde Sandvik, Chair of the 2019 Jury of the Alfred Fried Photography Award; Founder & Editor-in-Chief of, Norway
• Matthew Caruana Galizia, Pulitzer Prize winning investigative journalist, Malta
• Elizabeth Schaeffer Brown, Representing 2018 Nobel Peace Laureate Nadia Murad; Co-founder of Nadia’s Initiative, USA

The short list for the 2019 Alfred Fried Award can be found here:

Read more about previous Alfred Fried Award winners:
2014: Russian photographer named winner of Alfred Fried prize
2015: Belgian photographer wins Alfred Fried Photography Award
2016: Series on mixed emotions of Holocaust survivors wins Alfred Fried award
2017: Swedish-Nigerian photographer wins 2017 Fried award
2018: Series on girls in Zanzibar “finding freedom in water” wins Peace Image of the Year 2018